Rangers win first World Series in 63-year history

Pictured: Corey Seager, Marcus Semien and Adolis Garcia walking before a Texas Rangers game

The Texas Rangers are World Series champions for the first time in franchise history, after defeating the Arizona Diamondbacks in the fall classic.

After splitting the first two games of the series in Arlington, the Rangers went a perfect 3-0 in Phenoix to wrap up the trophy, the first of their history.

Texas went a perfect 11 wins and zero losses playing away from home during the postseason, which is a new Major League Baseball (MLB) record.

Game five saw a heated pitchers duel between Nathan Eovaldi and Zac Gallen, the latter taking a no-hitter into the sixth inning.

The seventh inning saw the deadlock broken, as Gallen loaded the bases before Mitch Garver drove in Corey Seager with an RBI single.

Catcher Jonah Heim provided some breathing room for Texas, as his base hit drove in two additional runs.

Marcus Semien provided the icing on the take, launching a two-run home run meaning the celebrations could truly begin.

The Diamondbacks stranded 11 runners on base during game five, allowing Evoldi to earn the win for his side.

Rangers shortstop Corey Seager won the World Series MVP award, the second of his career after winning it with the Los Angeles Dodgers in 2020.

This is the fourth title that manager Bruce Bochy has won in his career, with all others coming during his 12-year spell as manager of the San Francisco Giants.