The start of the Copa America 2024

THE 2024 Copa America, it’s here and USA are the host, the Mercedes-Benz Stadium, was in charge for the opening ceremony.

It is the first time, the South American tournament, will be played outside their continent, as USA are getting ready for the upcoming 2026 World Cup, alongside with other countries, like Mexico and Canada.

Six of the 16 teams are from the CONCACAF (Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football), an they, are joining the CONMEBOL( The South American Football Confederation).

The Copa America, started as expected, with Argentina winning, over Canada 2-0, the Manchester City player, Julian Alvarez, was in charge, to open the score, at the second half, and Lautaro Martinez, at the 88′ minute.

Scaloni’s side, earn their, three expected points, as part of the group A, that share with Peru, Canada and Chile, also called the “group of death”, that between all of them, there is a sum of, 19 Copa America titles.

Messi, broke the record, with the most appearances, in the Copa America, with 35 matches.

This will be the “Last Dance” of some of the South American icons like:

Lionel Messi (Argentina) (36 years): The World Cup winner, will try to defend their previous title, with La Albiceleste.

Paolo Guerrero (Peru) (40 years): The eternal captain, from La Blanquirroja, will be playing, his last Copa America with his country and break some records from his country.

Luis Suarez (Uruguay) (37 years): The goalscorer, from La Celeste, is one of the favourites to win the tournament, alongside, with their experienced coach , Marcelo Bielsa.

The legend, Marcelo Bielsa, has never won a Copa America, as Uruguay are one of the favourites to win this year, he is keen to take it home.

Ricardo Gareca, is currently managing Chile, since January 2024, he previously, managed Peru and gave, La Blanquirroja, many joys, as one of them, was the qualification, to the 2018 World Cup, after 36 years.

Next match: Peru v Chile

Group A: Argentina, Peru, Chile, Canada

Group B: Mexico, Ecuador, Venezuela, Jamaica

Group C: United States, Uruguay, Panama, Bolivia

Group D: Brazil, Colombia, Paraguay, Costa Rica

The final will be in Miami on the 14th of July